2004 – 2005 News

Spring 2005 News

Wildcat named top college paper in U.S.

The Princeton Review named the Arizona Daily Wildcat the Best College Newspaper nationwide yesterday.

The Princeton Review surveyed 110,000 students at 361 top colleges to rate their schools and report on their campus experiences.

The UA will be listed in the new 2006 edition of “The Best 361 Colleges,” for winning the Best College Newspaper ranking.

Aaron Mackey, Wildcat editor in chief, said he is very excited about the ranking.

“We are thrilled to learn that UA students enjoy reading the Wildcat,” Mackey said. “The honor shows that our paper is a big part of the university community.”

Wildcat Earns 12 Regional Awards from Society of Professional Journalists The Daily Wildcat and its staff took home 12 awards including 4 firsts — in the regional SPJ Mark of Excellence competition, announced in April. Our SPJ region includes all the California schools and is highly competitive.

The first-place winners will now qualify for a national Mark of Excellence Award to be presented in the fall at the national SPJ convention. The Wildcat’s first-place winners are:

  • Caitlin Hall (and staff) in Editorial Writing
  • Claire Laurence for Sports Photography
  • Kevin Klaus for General News Photography
  • Keren Raz for Column Writing

Additional Wildcat awards were earned as follows:

  • 2nd place–Jesse Lewis for News Reporting
  • 2nd place–Evan Caravelli for Feature Photography
  • 2nd place–Jacob Konst for Photo Illustration
  • 2nd place–Wildcat Online, Best All Around Online Edition
  • 2nd place–Arizona Daily Wildcat (print edition), Best Daily
  • 3rd place–Andrea Kelly for Feature Writing
  • 3rd place–Mitra Taj for News Reporting
  • 3rd place–Kevin Klaus for Sports Photography

Banquet Honors Scholarship, Award Winners More than 100 students and staff turned out for the annual end-of-year Daily Wildcat banquet April 29, 2005 at the historic Hotel Congress in Tucson. This event, begun 5 years ago, features a reception, dinner and an awards presentation to recognize the achievements of Wildcatters during the past year.

Among the highlights this year was the presentation of the first Christopher Reinesch Enterprise Scholarship established by a former Wildcat advertising account executive. This $500 scholarship was awarded to junior Margaux Theriault, one of the Wildcat’s top ad reps this year. Christopher and his fiancee Susan were on hand for the dinner presentation.

Throughout the evening, dozens of awards were announced for achievement and excellence in writing, advertising, photography and design. Impact Awards — to students whose work had helped “change the dynamic” around the Wildcat this year — went to Corey Benjamin in advertising, Jeff Henley in production and Kylee Dawson in the newsroom.

The signature George B. Morley Award for Advertising and Business — the top award in this area– was won by ad rep Lenny Karpel.

Brett Fera, Wildcat editor in chief this past semester, earned the Clyde D. Lowery Award for Professionalism and Integrity in Journalism — the newsroom’s top award. Clyde and his wife Dottie were on hand for the occasion.

12 Garner Alumni Awards Twelve graduating seniors joined the ranks of those who have earned the distinguished Daily Wildcat Alumni Award, presented for “outstanding career contributions to the Wildcat.” This brings to 46 the number of ex-Wildcatters now recognized in the name of Wildcat alumni for their exemplary work on the paper.

This year’s winners, announced at the Wildcat banquet April 29, are:

  • Keren Raz (reporter, news editor, columnist)
  • Caitlin Hall (opinions editor, editor in chief)
  • Evan Caravelli (photog, photo editor)
  • Corey Benjamin (senior account exec)
  • Rebecca Rodriguez (classifieds representative)
  • Kristall Lauterbach (advertising designer)
  • Andrea Kelly (reporter, news editor)
  • Kevin Klaus (photographer)
  • Stefanie Thompson (copy chief, managing editor)
  • David Harden (photog, photo editor)
  • Mike Padilla (cartoonist, illustrations editor)
  • Brett Fera (sports editor, editor in chief)

Winter 2004

Wildcat Wins Online Pacemaker

The Daily Wildcat took home a National Online Pacemaker Award from the Associated Collegiate Press at the National College Media Convention in Nashville Nov. 6.

The Online Pacemaker recognizes outstanding achievement by an online college paper, and the Wildcat Online was selected from more than 40 finalists for the award from around the country, The Wildcat Online, launched in 1994 as one of the first online college sites, is celebrating its 10th anniversary this year.

The print Daily Wildcat was also recognized this year by the Associated Collegiate Press as a finalist for the National Pacemaker. The Wildcat earned and second place award for “Best of Show” in the daily category at the National College Media Convention. More than 2,500 college journalists and advisers attended the event.

Fall 2004 News

Wildcat wins 7 awards from AZ Newspaper Association; Pacemakers next The Daily Wildcat and its staff took home seven awards from the annual Arizona Newspapers Association “Better Newspapers Contest,” announced at the ANA’s annual convention Sept. 25.

Competing against professional papers in the “greater than 10,000” circulation class, the Wildcat earned 2nd place awards for Page Design Excellence, Best Use of Photography, and Best Online Site.

Individually, reporter Jessica Lee took 1st place for Best News Story and photographer David Harden earned a 1st place for Best News Photo. Brett Fera won 2nd for Sports Beat Coverage and Nathan Tafoya was a 3rd place winner for Best Feature Story.

The Daily Wildcat has also been named a finalist for General Excellence and for the Online Wildcat in the prestigious Pacemaker competition sponsored by the Associated Collegiate Press. The winning Pacemakers will be announced in November at the National College Media Convention in Nashville.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: