Wildcat Banquet Delivers Awards

About 100 Daily Wildcat staff turned out for the annual awards banquet Saturday, May 1, at Old Pueblo Grill in Tucson. Among the highlights:

Laura Donovan accepts the Clyde Lowery award from Mark Woodhams

The Clyde D. Lowery Award for Professionalism and Integrity was awarded to Laura Donovan,a creative writing senior from Scotts Valley, Calif. Laura has been both the opinions page editor and a news reporter (though not at the same time!) on the Wildcat.

The George B. Morley Award for Achievement in Advertising went to Noel Palmer, a junior business major from Phoenix. Noel is an account executive on the ad staff.

Noel Palmer also was awarded the Christopher R. Reinesch Enterprise Scholarship. This scholarship is provided by a former Wildcat advertising representative to recognize an especially enterprising student on our business and sales staff. Noel led the staff in sales in 2009-2010.

Noel Palmer accepts the Morley award

Daily Wildcat Alumni Awards, given on behalf of Wildcat alumni to graduating seniors who have made sustained contributions to the paper, went to:

Lance Madden, sports reporter, sports editor, editor in chief
Kyle Wade, sales manager, account executive
Alicia Sloan, classified advertising/customer service rep
Ken Wright, cartoonist and illustrator
Alan Walsh, photographer
Rodney Hass, page designer, photographer, reporter
Eleni Miachika, advertising account exec
Laura Donovan, opinions editor, reporter
Dalia Rihani, graphic designer

Wildcat, staffers take home SPJ honors

The Arizona Daily Wildcat and its staff earned eight awards in the SPJ regional Mark of Excellence competition this year. The awards were announced at the SPJ annual conference in San Francisco on May 1.

Earning first place were Michael Ignatov in sports photography, Lisa Beth Earle in general news photography, and Carly Kennedy and Ian Friedman for breaking news reporting (double bylined story). First-place regional winners automatically contend for the national Mark of Excellence award to be presented in the fall.

Michael Ignatov earned first place honors in the regional SPJ Mark of Excellence contest for this photo of Houston's Aubrey Coleman stepping on the face of prone Wildcat Chase Budinger.

Second place awards went to the Daily Wildcat in the best all-around daily newspaper competition; to Bryan Roy for sport column writing; to the news staff for breaking news reporting (yes, the Wildcat took first AND second place); and to Lance Madden for sports writing.

Lisa Beth Earle also earned a third place award in the general news photography competition. With a first and a third in that category, and a first and a second in breaking news, the Wildcat can stand proud in these two journalistically vital areas!

The breaking news entries were for coverage of  the arrest of a student who gave birth in the dorms and allegedly stuffed the baby in a bag, and for a story on  the theft of 10,000 copies of the Wildcat from our newsstands last fall.

Clyde D. Lowery

Clyde Lowery, executive director of student publications at the University of Arizona from 1973 – 1989, passed away April 11, 2010. During his tenure Clyde led the Wildcat to unprecedented growth, moved it from typesetting machines to computers, and most of all, mentored hundreds of student journalists. If you worked with Clyde, please post your memories or thoughts about him by using the “Leave a Comment” link beneath the “Clyde D. Lowery” headline. You can email photos for us to post too. We’ll share comments and photos with his family.

Photo of Clyde Lowery and Eric Swedlund, winner of the first annual “Clyde D. Lowery Award for Professionalism and Integrity in Journalism Award” in 2001

Still Winning Awards

The Arizona Daily Wildcat and dailywildcat.com carry on the tradition of excellence:

  • WINNER, Best of Show, newspaper website – Associated Collegiate Press College Newspaper Convention, Phoenix, February 2010
  • WINNER, Best of Show, daily college newspaper – College Media Advisers, National Convention, New York City, March 2010

The Wildcat also won 5 awards at the College Newspaper Business & Advertising Managers National Convention in Los Angeles, March 2010:

  • First Place, Best Color Ad
  • First Place, Best Classifieds Section
  • First Place, Best Online Display Ad
  • Second Place, Best Ad Campaign
  • Third Place, Best Newspaper Promotion